PDF XChange Editor sometimes crashes when a window is closed

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Paul - Tracker Supp, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Chris - Tracker Supp, Sean - Tracker, Ivan - Tracker Software, Tracker Supp-Stefan

Zarquan314
User

Post by Zarquan314 »

I use PDF XChange Editor to grade papers. One of the things I like to do is take my "stack" of papers and separate them by common errors so I can compare them to each other to ensure consistency across the papers. Doing this, I can end up with many windows.

I'm not a professor, so sometimes I want to leave these in these many windows and consult my professor on how wrong these are or whether he considers them wrong at all in the larger context. When I do this, I often move on to another question and grade that. However, sometimes when I finish this second question and close that window, all of the other PDF XChange Editor windows crash, which essentially dissolves the stacks I made.

I don't know how to reproduce this crash consistently.

EDIT: A thought: Fixing the crash would be nice, but sometimes the program will crash for reasons outside PDF XChange Editor's control (e.g. computer crash). I think it would be nice if when PDF XChange Editor crashes, it attempts to restore all open PDFs in the form they were in before the crash (organized the way they were). I'm thinking a mechanism similar to Firefox, where when it crashes, it presents you with a "Restore Session" window which can reopen the tabs and windows as they were before the crash. I wouldn't care about the crash if I could recover in this form.
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin

Re: PDF XChange Editor sometimes crashes when a window is closed

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel »

Hello, Zarquan314

Ill split this into two sections.