save as deleting original file

Please post any requests or ideas you may have for new features for the end User Version of PDF-Tools here.

Moderators: Tracker Support, TrackerSupp-Daniel, Sean - Tracker, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Chris - Tracker Supp, Ivan - Tracker Software, Tracker - Clarion Support, John - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Support Staff, moderators

Post Reply
rubbioli
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 1:40 am

save as deleting original file

Post by rubbioli »

I would like to suggest the option to "Save as" the new file and at the same time delete the original file to avoid duplicate files on the computer. Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Sean - Tracker
Site Admin
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 5:42 pm
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: save as deleting original file

Post by Sean - Tracker »

Hi rubbioli,

When you use the Save As feature, by definition it will save the file with a unique name, so you should not experience any duplication of file names.

Unfortunately there is no way to automatically delete the original file when using the Save As feature, but of course you can delete it manually after you have saved the file with a new name via the Save As feature.

Many thanks and best regards,
Sean Godley
Technical Writer
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD
Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623
rubbioli
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2021 1:40 am

Re: save as deleting original file

Post by rubbioli »

Thanks for the reply. However, would it be too complex to create a tool that would make it possible to save the file with the "Save As" function and at the same time delete the original file? As I do this operation dozens of times, I would need to delete several files, checking at the same time whether or not there was a duplicate file. Thanks in advance.
User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 6574
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: save as deleting original file

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel »

Hello, rubbioli

There is a bit of difference between overwriting an existing file, which you can do with the "Save" or "save as" function, and intentionally deleting a now unrelated file. It is highly unlikely we will ever offer a feature to intentionally delete a file during the save as operation, unless you are overwriting the original file.
As it stands, saving as with a new file name, and then going back to delete the original manually would be the least number of steps to accomplish what you want here.

Kind regards,
Daniel McIntyre - Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Support: <Support@tracker-software.com>
User avatar
Lzcat - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 668
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:42 am

Re: save as deleting original file

Post by Lzcat - Tracker Supp »

Hi rubbioli
You can use Rename... to change file name (however this will not allow you to move file to another folder).
If you need to simply move unmodified file to other location you can use Open Containing Folder... (this will open file explorer and select current file), close file, then switch to explorer and move file to any location you need.
Victor
Tracker Software
Project manager

Please archive any files posted to a ZIP, 7z or RAR file or they will be removed and not posted.
Post Reply