Loading Old Settings

PDF-XChange Editor SDK for Developers

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Forum rules
DO NOT post your license/serial key, or your activation code - these forums, and all posts within, are public and we will be forced to immediately deactivate your license.

When experiencing some errors, use the IAUX_Inst::FormatHRESULT method to see their description and include it in your post along with the error code.
Post Reply
jeffp
User
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Loading Old Settings

Post by jeffp » Sun Jul 15, 2018 4:00 pm

Did build .326 fix the issue with converting older settings to the new settings format. I have a lot of users on prior builds of .324 and .325 and I need to preserve their custom settings when I upgrade them to build .326

--Jeff

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13651
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:09 am

Hello Jeff,

Are those users on older builds of V7?
I was not aware there has been an issue with build 325 at all.
Can you give 326 a try at your end and see if the settings are converted properly?

Regards,
Stefan

jeffp
User
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by jeffp » Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:35 pm

Sorry, I meant version 6 to version 7.

I'm still on 6.0.322.7

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13651
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:22 pm

Hello Jeff,

I will need to check with our devs, but as far as I am aware - no it is not yet possible.

Regards,
Stefan

jeffp
User
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by jeffp » Mon Jul 16, 2018 4:33 pm

Will it be possible? and if so, when?

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13651
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:37 am

Hello Jeff,

I have asked and as soon as I have the reply I will post it here for you!

Cheers,
Stefan

jeffp
User
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by jeffp » Sat Jul 28, 2018 9:48 pm

Any word back on this issue yet?

--Jeff

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13651
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:06 pm

Hello Jeff,

My colleagues told me that "In V7 we already support all V6-settings, excepting the toolbars customization settings."

Regards,
Stefan

jeffp
User
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by jeffp » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:10 pm

It is the toolbar customization settings that I was needing a translation for.

Is this not going to happen?

--Jeff

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13651
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:23 pm

Hello Jeff,

As far as I am aware - not in the immediate 1-2 upcoming builds, and I will ask what the plans are for the longer term!

Regards,
Stefan

jeffp
User
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by jeffp » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:27 pm

That's fine if it's not worth your effort. I just need to know so I can deal with it on my end.

--Jeff

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13651
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:19 pm

Hello Jeff,

I have asked - but the colleagues that can answer are in Canada. As soon as I know more - I will post back!

Cheers,
Stefan

jeffp
User
Posts: 857
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 6:53 pm

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by jeffp » Sat Sep 08, 2018 6:16 pm

In your notes on 7.0.323.0, you mention that when upgrading from v6 to v7 you lose toolbar customizations, but that you were working on a feature that will import V6 customization to V7.

Is that feature in the latest build?

And when is the next build scheduled to be released?

Thanks.

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13651
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Loading Old Settings

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:34 am

Hello jeffp,

I have spoken with the UI devs recently and they told me that some settings are remembered and preserved - those that are not UI related, but because the new UI is significantly different and was redesigned heavily - unfortunately settings for the UI and toolbar layouts are still not compatible, and those will need to be recreated. You should be able to create the UI customizations on one device, and then export the settings file and use that for importing to other devices.

Regards,
Stefan

Post Reply