Can't overwrite file after OCR

This Forum is for the use of End Users requiring help and assistance for Tracker Software's PDF-Tools.

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Chris - Tracker Supp, Sean - Tracker, Tracker Supp-Stefan

TheRealFentonius
User

Can't overwrite file after OCR

Post by TheRealFentonius »

Hi there, I'm very new to PDFTools and am trying to add an OCR layer to existing PDF files, so I don't want to rename the files in any way. When I run the tool I get an error message at the end saying "The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process". I've attached a screenshot so you can see what I mean.
Any clue what I'm doing wrong?
Thanks... Peter
image.png
Paul - Tracker Supp
Site Admin

Re: Can't overwrite file after OCR

Post by Paul - Tracker Supp »

Hi TheRealFentonius,

thanks for the post. There are tools available that we can use to determine exactly what has a handle on that file keeping it open. Before we go there I would ask you to check that you do not have Windows Explorer open to that target folder, and that the file in question is not being previewed in the Windows Explorer Preview Pane. That has the potential to cause this.

If you are absolutely certain that noting is using that file other than PDDF-Tools you can download a copy of "process Explorer" from Microsoft and we can walk you through using it to determine what is locking those files. https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysint ... s-explorer

I am keen first however to know if the Windows file explorer is previewing that file.

regards
Best regards

Paul O'Rorke
Tracker Support North America
http://www.tracker-software.com
Willy Van Nuffel
User

Post by Willy Van Nuffel »

Hi all,

For me, it seems like the problem comes from the "Batch Processing Mode" that is not activated.

Please turn in ON and try again.

Best regards.
Attachments
PDF-XChange Tools - OCR Pages.png