Can a textblock have a color background?

A forum for questions or concerns related to the PDF-XChange Core API SDK

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Chris - Tracker Supp, Sean - Tracker, Tracker Supp-Stefan

Forum rules
DO NOT post your license/serial key, or your activation code - these forums, and all posts within, are public and we will be forced to immediately deactivate your license.

When experiencing some errors, use the IAUX_Inst::FormatHRESULT method to see their description and include it in your post along with the error code.
Post Reply
whoit
User
Posts: 269
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:30 pm

Can a textblock have a color background?

Post by whoit »

I'm using ContentCreator, and ShowTextBlock.

Is it possible to set the background of the textblock color ?

For example, if I create a textblock with the intent of covering existing text, I would want the text to be black, and the background to be white...
Or if want, white text on a black background, etc..

Thanks.
Sasha - Tracker Dev Team
User
Posts: 5522
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:27 am
Contact:

Re: Can a textblock have a color background?

Post by Sasha - Tracker Dev Team »

Hello Wayne,

You should fill the rectangle first and then draw the text on top. The rectangle can be calculated when you output the text itself with DTF_CalcSizeOnly flag.
For more, please refer to the https://github.com/tracker-software/PDF ... oreAPIDemo project.
Look into the 4.3 Text Rendering Mode and 4.7 Patterns sample for more info.

Cheers,
Alex
Subscribe at:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-TwAMNi1haxJ1FX3LvB4CQ
whoit
User
Posts: 269
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:30 pm

Re: Can a textblock have a color background?

Post by whoit »

OK, thanks - I'll dig around.

BTW I've downloaded and run the new Demo - nice!

Only one issue: While running, after I select any sample from the left side, the "Go To Source" button does nothing,
nor does the code show in the window below the button.

(I'm running VS 2017)
Sasha - Tracker Dev Team
User
Posts: 5522
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 8:27 am
Contact:

Re: Can a textblock have a color background?

Post by Sasha - Tracker Dev Team »

Hello Wayne,

Please check the NuGet packages for the project - the FCTB package should be installed for the text coloring (just for a test to ensure that they did).
As for the problem, please check the toolStripButton2_Click implementation - and read the exception codes if they occur.
I think you can experience the problem here:

Code: Select all

EnvDTE.DTE dte = (EnvDTE.DTE)System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.GetActiveObject("VisualStudio.DTE");
Cheers,
Alex
Subscribe at:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-TwAMNi1haxJ1FX3LvB4CQ
Post Reply