Index list go to is wrong

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
User avatar
bawldiggle
User
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:22 am
Location: OZ by the sea

Index list go to is wrong

Post by bawldiggle » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:14 pm

Just received a PUB file.
Without MS-Publisher $$ I was snookered until I found several online PUB to PDF converters
Most of them are woeful to mediocre.
The best of the resulting PDF is very rough
1. PUB pages have a lot of empty space trailing each pages text. est. 75% empty
2. Index links activate an unknown location in blank areas of each page.
Several years ago I vaguely remember links could be edited (or maybe not)

Is it possible to "repair" the rough PDF or will I have to rebuild it. ?

Thank you :)

------------
Forum page will not accept the PDF nor a zipped version of the problem PDF. Attachments fail
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?fi ... 7472768304
Free PDF-XChange Editor since 12-Aug-2018
Free PDF-XChange Viewer for too long
... cautiously testing Editor
• Win-7 PRO 64bit | Win-7 Home 64-bit | Win-7 Home 32-bit ... fiddling with Linux Mint too
• ClassicShell GUI

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Index list go to is wrong

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Sun Nov 11, 2018 9:23 pm

HI bawldiggle,

Thanks for the post - This really depends on the content of the document. Is it possible to get a copy of both the PUB and the resulting PDF files? Feel free to send them to us directly at support@tracker-software.com if you don't want to upload them publicly.

Thanks,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

User avatar
bawldiggle
User
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:22 am
Location: OZ by the sea

Re: Index list go to is wrong

Post by bawldiggle » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:34 am

Thank you

I will ZIP both PUB and PDF and send to support@tracker-software.com

EDIT:
Sent ZIP to support
Free PDF-XChange Editor since 12-Aug-2018
Free PDF-XChange Viewer for too long
... cautiously testing Editor
• Win-7 PRO 64bit | Win-7 Home 64-bit | Win-7 Home 32-bit ... fiddling with Linux Mint too
• ClassicShell GUI

User avatar
Dimitar - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:01 am

Re: Index list go to is wrong

Post by Dimitar - Tracker Supp » Mon Nov 12, 2018 7:59 am

Hello bawldiggle,

I have tested your files and I think that the main problem is in the page size that you have set in the Publisher.

This is a custom page size in which the programs have difficulties to fit in the content and probably that's why and the links are misaligned:
page_size.png
page_size.png (8.46 KiB) Viewed 629 times
To fix the links, please go to our PDF Editor's Main menu -> Home -> Create link then double click on a link:
Edit_Links.png
After that go to Edit and fix the broken locations.

Unfortunately, you have to fix the links one by one.

Also, you should fix your pages to fit in an A4 format, into the PDF document or the original PUB document.


Regards.

User avatar
bawldiggle
User
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:22 am
Location: OZ by the sea

Re: Index list go to is wrong

Post by bawldiggle » Tue Dec 11, 2018 8:17 pm

Sorry for my belated reply, Health reasons and hospitals

My solution was to manually copy-paste; rebuild the document as a DOC then convert to PDF
Each link created one at a time ... very tedious.

Thank you for your feedback, no wonder MS Publisher is dead in the water.
- this is my first PUB file in 20+ yrs in IT
Free PDF-XChange Editor since 12-Aug-2018
Free PDF-XChange Viewer for too long
... cautiously testing Editor
• Win-7 PRO 64bit | Win-7 Home 64-bit | Win-7 Home 32-bit ... fiddling with Linux Mint too
• ClassicShell GUI

User avatar
Dimitar - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 739
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:01 am

Re: Index list go to is wrong

Post by Dimitar - Tracker Supp » Wed Dec 12, 2018 1:15 pm

Hello bawldiggle,

I'm sorry to hear that you have been sick.

I myself was in a hospital no so long ago, and I know how it felt to be in a hospital.

It is important that the disease passes and that a person feels well again.

I'm glad to hear that you have found some solution to your problem.

Yes, unfortunately, it has some issues when comes to compatibility with other applications.

Regards.

Post Reply