Using tabs in a text box

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
PRBruinsma
User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:35 am

Using tabs in a text box

Post by PRBruinsma » Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:16 pm

Hi,

Is it possible to set tabs in a text box?
If so, where can I find this feature?
If not, would you consider to add this feature?

Kind regards,
Piet

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 3879
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:32 pm

Hello PRBruinsam,
Currently we do not offer this function, so, thank you for the feature request!
Before we can begin to seriously consider this, we must weigh the advantages a feature like this would offer to our client base.
I have spoken with a few of my colleagues on the matter, and we would like some input from you on how such a function could be made to appeal to all of our users.
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Support: <Support@tracker-software.com>
Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

PRBruinsma
User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:35 am

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by PRBruinsma » Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:03 pm

I am working at an accounting firm.
Very often we have to provide a more detailed breakdown of an invoice.
For example:

Item A € 1.000
Item B € 2.000
Item C € 3.000

Total € 6.000

In this case it would be very handy if I could set a tab to create a sort of column for the amounts (€).

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 3879
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:54 pm

Hello PRBruinsma,
Thank you again for the feature request, however I am afraid that this is not currently possible. The development team are currently working on a feature for creating tables within the Editor, Is this what you are looking for?

Regards,
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Support: <Support@tracker-software.com>
Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

PRBruinsma
User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:35 am

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by PRBruinsma » Tue Aug 28, 2018 12:08 am

If the table would be sufficiently configurable then it could be an alternative.
The point is that it's not always clear in advance how many items (lines) are needed.

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 3879
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Tue Aug 28, 2018 12:15 am

I'm afraid that at the moment the function is too early in the development process to offer any specifics about how exactly it will work, but I can certainly speak with the team about this. As per usual, I cannot make a guarantee, but I can promise it will be seriously considered.
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Support: <Support@tracker-software.com>
Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

PRBruinsma
User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:35 am

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by PRBruinsma » Tue Aug 28, 2018 12:20 am

For now thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Regards.

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 3879
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Tue Aug 28, 2018 12:22 am

:)
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Support: <Support@tracker-software.com>
Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

PRBruinsma
User
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 2:35 am

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by PRBruinsma » Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:31 pm

Hi,

In the latest update (version 7.0.327.0) the requested feature has been added.
Now it is possible to set tabs in a text box.
Thank you very much!
This is great!

Kind regards,
Piet

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 3879
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: Using tabs in a text box

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Wed Oct 03, 2018 6:44 pm

:)
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Support: <Support@tracker-software.com>
Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

Post Reply