how to fillable pdf?

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
Supa
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:13 am

how to fillable pdf?

Post by Supa » Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:19 am

Hi, I use Xchangepro the current version! I can not find a simple guide on how to create a fillable pdf, what do I have to do, how can I do it? unfortunately, everything here is in english, so I only understand the half, I'm German! Thanks for your help

User avatar
Dimitar - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:01 am

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Dimitar - Tracker Supp » Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:25 am

Hello Supa,


Please take a look at this article:

http://help.tracker-software.com/pdfxe6 ... ar_ed.html

The article is based on version 6 but there is not much difference.
The Form menu, in version 7 is located here:
form_menu.JPG
If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to ask.


Best regards.

Supa
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:13 am

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Supa » Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:59 am

Thanks for that I found it! Now I have created a test document, have inserted a text frame and overwrite the name with, for example, address, then saved the document and open it in another editor, or brwoser, the document shows only the text frame but no label synonymous me nothing here indicated that I can fill it! Thanks for the help
Attachments
Sachwert[Page].jpg
Neues Dokument.pdf
(7.4 KiB) Downloaded 41 times

User avatar
Dimitar - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 9:01 am

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Dimitar - Tracker Supp » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:35 am

Hello Supa,

These are the names of the fields. Тhey are not visible when filling out data.
names_of_boxes.png
names_of_boxes.png (4.82 KiB) Viewed 1761 times
If you wish to have something visible indicating what should be filled in each field - you can add text captions next to them.

Best regards.

Supa
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:13 am

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Supa » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:37 pm

ok thanks for that!

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13557
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Thu Feb 22, 2018 12:42 pm

:D

Supa
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:13 am

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Supa » Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:10 pm

i`m sorry ist me again!

i try to make documents fillable, i can`t fillable it in different editors, browser, or in word?

what make i wrong?!

Thanks for help

see pdf below! i do the Textframe in underline, or the smallone are a checkbox!
Attachments
Neues Dokument.pdf
(711.61 KiB) Downloaded 40 times

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13557
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Thu Feb 22, 2018 2:52 pm

Hello Supa,

Thanks for the sample file.
I see that this is a scanned image of an original file, and the underlined areas are loeft as spaces where e.g. handwritten text is to be added to a piece of paper.
You can open this file, and using the Forms tool add the form fields on top of the content already in the file. Then save it and when you send it to someone else - they will be able to click and fill in the form fields you created.

We do not have an automated tool that will e.g. directly create fields over the underlined areas - you have to do it manually.

Regards,
Stefan

claude vidal
User
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:47 am

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by claude vidal » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:28 pm

Tracker Supp-Stefan wrote:... We do not have an automated tool that will e.g. directly create fields over the underlined areas - you have to do it manually...
Stefan
may have proposed this in the past, but just in case, could this be submitted as a feature request?

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Thu Feb 22, 2018 11:16 pm

Hi guys!
This actually already is a feature request, I'll check in on the progress for you and get back to you soon

Update: Seems there hasn't been much progress on it. We've revived the ticket though, so now it'll be back up near the top of the list for another pass through the idea train.
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

HaPe
User
Posts: 160
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2014 9:34 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by HaPe » Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:01 am

claude vidal wrote:
Tracker Supp-Stefan wrote:... We do not have an automated tool that will e.g. directly create fields over the underlined areas - you have to do it manually...
Stefan
may have proposed this in the past, but just in case, could this be submitted as a feature request?
This is a feature that I also suggested almost 2 years ago - see video.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cafQON5Xync

HaPe

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:17 am

Thanks HaPe,
We are looking at it now, hopefully it'll get pushed through this time, there seem to be more users wanting it now, so it is more likely.
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

ciblu
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:01 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by ciblu » Mon May 28, 2018 12:19 pm

Hi
I have an additional question to the forms. When I try to fill in text with Adobe Reader in the first sample form from Supa, it will not correctly fill in all diacritic letters. In german these are mainly "ä, ö, ü". I made an own test form - same trouble here. Is there any known solution for this issue?

Regards
ciblu

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6806
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Mon May 28, 2018 1:52 pm

Hi ciblu,

Thanks for the post - I'm not seeing this here, so please make sure that you're using the latest release:
http://www.tracker-software.com/downloads

Thanks,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

Willy Van Nuffel
User
Posts: 1391
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:10 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Willy Van Nuffel » Mon May 28, 2018 4:52 pm

Hello,

At my side, I was able to reproduce the problem with the first sample PDF in this topic.
I have used a few random words with accented characters.

See what I get - in the attached picture - when I click in the second text box in Adobe Reader DC (version 2018.011.20040).

The reason why it works correctly in the first text box, is because there I have corrected the problem (reset the Arial font).

To make the test at your side, I have attached my (modified) version of the sample PDF.

NOTE: In PDF-XChange Editor V7 build 325.1 you do NOT see the problem.
Attachments
Neues Dokument_.pdf
(5.63 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
Result in Adobe Reader DC.png
Result in Adobe Reader DC.png (8.19 KiB) Viewed 1561 times

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Mon May 28, 2018 5:38 pm

Hello All,
Willy, thank you for verifying that this issue is not present in 325.1.
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

ciblu
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 12:01 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by ciblu » Tue May 29, 2018 9:02 am

Hello
@ Will - Tracker Supp
I am using Version 7.0 Build 325.1 on Windows 8.1 prof and Adobe Reader Version 11.0.23

@ Willy Van Nuffel
I can reproduce the explained work around, thanks a lot, this is a great help.

@ Willy Van Nuffel and TrackerSupp - Daniel
However on my Installation (Build 325.1) the problem is still existing

@all
Thanks a lot for helping me with this issue.

Regards ciblu

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6806
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Tue May 29, 2018 9:32 am

Hi ciblu,

Not a problem!

@Willy - Thanks for that! :) If you haven't noticed, I've been mostly away since September (excluding weekends), so I'm still catching up with everything and getting back 'in the game' so to speak :)

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

Willy Van Nuffel
User
Posts: 1391
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:10 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Willy Van Nuffel » Tue May 29, 2018 11:00 am

@ciblu

What do you mean by "the problem is still existing" ?

Do you mean that when you create a form with a fill-in field in PDF-XChange Editor and then you open that form in Adobe Reader, there are still problems with accented characters ?

@Will

Welcome back 'in the game'.

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13557
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Tue May 29, 2018 12:15 pm

Hello all,

A sample file will be most helpful, but just to let you all know that we've seen a similar problem with umlauts recently:
#4365 Editor 325.1: Issues with umlaut characters in form fields when displayed in Adobe
Turned out that Adobe is expecting some more font info than the minimal required (and what we were doing), so a colleague is working on a fix for such umlauts, and I presume the fix will affect accented letters as well. I will be able to confirm that once we get a sample file!

Regards,
Stefan

Willy Van Nuffel
User
Posts: 1391
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:10 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Willy Van Nuffel » Tue May 29, 2018 12:40 pm

Hello Stefan,

I wonder why I am often doing an effort to post sample files (see the most recent one here above), and almost nobody takes a look at them.

If you open that PDF in Adobe Reader and click in the second field, you will see what the problem is.

Are my sample PDF's invisible for Tracker Software Support people ?

:-(

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13557
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Tue May 29, 2018 1:12 pm

Hi Willy,

Ahh - apologies! I thought that the attachment to your post above was just an image!!! (and I admit In only read the last 3-4 posts in the topic at first!)
Looking at the file now!

Cheers,
Stefan

P.S. After checking the file - it seems that the 'solution' I had for the file in the ticket I posted above (change the font for the field using the form tools) - does work for your file as well, please see attached.
Checking with our devs now to confirm if this is the same issue as in the ticket I made last week, and if not - I will make a new one!
Attachments
Neues Dokument_.pdf
(6.01 KiB) Downloaded 31 times

Willy Van Nuffel
User
Posts: 1391
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:10 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Willy Van Nuffel » Tue May 29, 2018 1:51 pm

Thanks for confirming the problem.

It seems like a new Text Field does not have sufficient font-information by default, what is giving problems in Adobe Reader.

Once that you re-apply the same font or an other font to the Text Field, the problem gets solved.

So, to be clear, this problem is (still) present in PDF-XChange Editor V7 build 325.1

Best regards.

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Tue May 29, 2018 7:07 pm

Indeed it is willy,
Sorry, I had made the same assumption as Stefan above, and also though your attachment was simply an image without reading into it more. I see now what you were mentioning.
I believe as Stefan mentioned, the ticket he had showed earlier seems to cover this aspect, hopefully it will be implemented soon!
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

Lzcat - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 712
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:42 am

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Lzcat - Tracker Supp » Wed May 30, 2018 5:51 am

Hi guys.
Older build have described problem with font is Adobe, and once field was created it will have that problem until field font is changed in current build.
Can you confirm that current (325.1) build has same problem? This mean that field added in file created in current build will have same problems.
Please not that opening/saving file with new build WILL NOT correct existing fields until you change font for them. Can you confirm that changing font in current build work as expected?
Victor
Tracker Software
Project manager

Please archive any files posted to a ZIP, 7z or RAR file or they will be removed and not posted.

Willy Van Nuffel
User
Posts: 1391
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:10 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by Willy Van Nuffel » Wed May 30, 2018 6:15 pm

In form of attachments to this post, you can find:

1) A PDF made with PDF-XChange Editor V7 build 325.1, including 1 page with two original (non-modified) text fields with equal properties.
The first field had to be filled in with Adobe Reader DC - The second field had to be filled in with PDF-XChange Editor.

2) The same PDF as here above, but with a reset of both text fields.
Also the first field filled in with Adobe Reader DC - The second field filled in with PDF-XChange Editor.
The text in both fields is now correct, but there is still a difference in font size.

When I explicitly set the "font size" of both text fields to "18 points" instead of "Auto", then their text size is equal.
Maybe, Tracker Software developers will have to verify 'all' properties, not alone font type and font size.

Regards.
Attachments
PDF-XChange V7-325-1 Text Field.pdf
(11.89 KiB) Downloaded 33 times
PDF-XChange V7-325-1 Text Field - with font reset.pdf
(17.41 KiB) Downloaded 33 times

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Sat Jun 02, 2018 12:26 am

Hi willy,
I've been testing this and am midway through detailing the issues for a ticket, I just need to speak with the Dev team about this on Monday, very sorry for the delayed response.
I've made a note of this thread, and once I have a ticket number I will post it in here for you.
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

User avatar
TrackerSupp-Daniel
Site Admin
Posts: 2517
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 6:52 pm

Re: how to fillable pdf?

Post by TrackerSupp-Daniel » Fri Oct 05, 2018 12:18 am

Hi again,
I have finally managed to test this since the update, It seems to be working correctly now in build 327!
Enjoy!
Daniel McIntyre
Support Technician
Tracker Software Products (Canada) LTD

Sales: +1 (250) 324-1621
Fax: +1 (250) 324-1623

Post Reply