Page 1 of 1

can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:43 am
by AndyK
Hi,

I can't copy in the Edit Content Tool

Image
scrivania_1.pdf
(7.47 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
What do I wrong?

Andy

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Posted: Thu Sep 24, 2015 1:17 pm
by Tracker Supp-Stefan
Hi Andy,

You are not doing anything wrong - just base content copying is not yet possible. You can for the moment just move base content objects on the same page (but not between pages). We are working on cut/copy of base content - but it is not yet ready.

Regards,
Stefan

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2015 2:33 pm
by laziffer
I had the same problem and after reading these posts here I hope the feature to move content between sides is comming soon. I often scan little pieces of text and like to print them together in a new order on one page.

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Posted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:00 am
by Will - Tracker Supp
Hi laziffer,

Thanks for the post - I'm working from the UK at the moment, so I don't have direct confirmation, but if I remember right, this will either be implemented for the next release or the release after.

However, as I said, I don't currently have confirmation so my memory could be wildly wrong. I'll see if I can get some further info. for you in the Western-Canadian morning.

Cheers,

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:10 pm
by fghj
Tracker Supp-Stefan wrote:...base content copying is not yet possible. You can for the moment just move base content objects on the same page (but not between pages). We are working on cut/copy of base content - but it is not yet ready.
:shock: Oh dear sorry to be a little harsh on this but this is really a poor!
Copy & Paste is a really essential functionality for a PDF EDITOR how can you have missed implementing that on pdf content?
When testing pdf XChange Editor I had a good impression but this 'bug/lack of functionality' really renders it to be useless or well just to be another PDF-Viewer with some editing abilities.

Also from the developers view point I can't see what is the problem in implementing this. Copy data from the on place and paste it somewhere else. But anyway you should at least put a tooltip or (not implemented yet) at the not working 'Copy' / 'Cut' in the context menu. To make that issue at least more honest and transparent.
But like it is right now it feels like a kick in ya butt. Am I stupid or why that 'Copy'/'Cut' is greyed/disabled and not working? :twisted:

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:15 pm
by Tracker Supp-Stefan
Hello fghj,

I can understand the frustration, but copying base content objects is quite more complicated than copying comments and annotations (Mainly because of the way the two types of objects are stored in the structure of the file), and we need some more time to make this work properly.
Rest assured we are working on this and will make it available as soon as possible!

Regards,
Stefan

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:44 pm
by fghj
@Stefan
Wow thanks at least for your almost immediately reply. :D
At least some light at the end of the tunnel that cheered me up.

**admin: removed that part of your message as it is advertisement**

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:29 pm
by Tracker Supp-Stefan
Hello fghj,

I am trying to help as much as I can.

Regards,
Stefan