can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
User avatar
AndyK
User
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 8:52 pm

can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Post by AndyK » Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:43 am

Hi,

I can't copy in the Edit Content Tool

Image
scrivania_1.pdf
(7.47 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
What do I wrong?

Andy

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13508
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Thu Sep 24, 2015 1:17 pm

Hi Andy,

You are not doing anything wrong - just base content copying is not yet possible. You can for the moment just move base content objects on the same page (but not between pages). We are working on cut/copy of base content - but it is not yet ready.

Regards,
Stefan

laziffer
User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 5:17 pm

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Post by laziffer » Sun Nov 01, 2015 2:33 pm

I had the same problem and after reading these posts here I hope the feature to move content between sides is comming soon. I often scan little pieces of text and like to print them together in a new order on one page.

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6806
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:00 am

Hi laziffer,

Thanks for the post - I'm working from the UK at the moment, so I don't have direct confirmation, but if I remember right, this will either be implemented for the next release or the release after.

However, as I said, I don't currently have confirmation so my memory could be wildly wrong. I'll see if I can get some further info. for you in the Western-Canadian morning.

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

fghj
User
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Post by fghj » Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:10 pm

Tracker Supp-Stefan wrote:...base content copying is not yet possible. You can for the moment just move base content objects on the same page (but not between pages). We are working on cut/copy of base content - but it is not yet ready.
:shock: Oh dear sorry to be a little harsh on this but this is really a poor!
Copy & Paste is a really essential functionality for a PDF EDITOR how can you have missed implementing that on pdf content?
When testing pdf XChange Editor I had a good impression but this 'bug/lack of functionality' really renders it to be useless or well just to be another PDF-Viewer with some editing abilities.

Also from the developers view point I can't see what is the problem in implementing this. Copy data from the on place and paste it somewhere else. But anyway you should at least put a tooltip or (not implemented yet) at the not working 'Copy' / 'Cut' in the context menu. To make that issue at least more honest and transparent.
But like it is right now it feels like a kick in ya butt. Am I stupid or why that 'Copy'/'Cut' is greyed/disabled and not working? :twisted:
Last edited by fghj on Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13508
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:15 pm

Hello fghj,

I can understand the frustration, but copying base content objects is quite more complicated than copying comments and annotations (Mainly because of the way the two types of objects are stored in the structure of the file), and we need some more time to make this work properly.
Rest assured we are working on this and will make it available as soon as possible!

Regards,
Stefan

fghj
User
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 11:02 am

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Post by fghj » Fri Nov 20, 2015 4:44 pm

@Stefan
Wow thanks at least for your almost immediately reply. :D
At least some light at the end of the tunnel that cheered me up.

**admin: removed that part of your message as it is advertisement**

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13508
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: can't copy something in the Edit Content Tool

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Fri Nov 20, 2015 5:29 pm

Hello fghj,

I am trying to help as much as I can.

Regards,
Stefan

Post Reply