Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1  SOLVED

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
malungu

Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by malungu » Fri Feb 13, 2015 5:32 am

Hi,

up to version 5.5.311 the scanning process in Editor recognised A4 paper format when I scanned a page. After I installed version 5.5.312 (and 5.5.312.1), it is no longer recognised and only a small selection in the middle of the A4 page is scanned. The behaviour is the same if I do select A4 paper size in the scan parameters. Again, only a small rectangle in the middle of the page is scanned. Only if I select the custom paper size of "210 mm x 297 mm" an A4 page is scanned completely. Could you please check this?

Thank you,
malungu

User avatar
Paul - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 5108
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Chemainus, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Paul - Tracker Supp » Fri Feb 13, 2015 5:02 pm

Hi malungu,

that sounds like a driver change not the Editor. Can you take screen shots of what you are seeing? I'm keen to see this.

regards
_________________
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards

Paul O'Rorke
Tracker Support North America
http://www.tracker-software.com

John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 8205
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by John - Tracker Supp » Fri Feb 13, 2015 5:09 pm

Hi,

Have checked here and I cannot reproduce this behaviour - can you please advise the steps to reproduce, please also advise your scanner model and Windows OS
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

malungu

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by malungu » Fri Feb 13, 2015 7:31 pm

Hi,

I attach a zip file with the following content:

JPG files with screenshots of the settings that I use
PDF files with the resulting scanned pages

"A4" paper size leads to the error, "custom size" with 210 x 297 mm scans correctly.

I don't think the reason is a change of the driver; I have not upated it. If I install Editor version 5.5.311 again, "A4" scanning works correctly.

I use Windows 7 (64-bit) Home Premium SP1, the scanner is a Canon CanoScan 8800F with driver version 13.0.5.56 of 7 May 2009. If I use the "copier" function of the scanner software and I print to "PDF XChanger Printer 2012" in A4 format, the result is OK. Only scanning in A4 format from within Editor 5.5.312.1 causes the error.

Best regards
malungu
Attachments
scanner settings and results.zip
JPG screenshots of settings and resulting PDFs
(412.04 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

Alex-Tracker DevTeam
User
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 9:33 am

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Alex-Tracker DevTeam » Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:07 am

Hi
Can you please check if scanning with the TWAIN (instead of WIA) drivers gives the same results?
Thanks in advance

malungu

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by malungu » Mon Feb 16, 2015 3:31 pm

Hi,

in the scanner properties I can select only the WIA driver; aren't TWAIN drivers obsolete in Windows 7? Anyway, when I select "Show Native UI" when scanning in Editor, the result is as expected. I can also select VueScan TWAIN (TWAIN driver provided with VueScan?) when scanning from IrfanView or Faststone Image Viewer. Again the results are OK.

I hope my reply makes sense. I am not an expert on scanners and their drivers. :oops:

Best regards
malungu

User avatar
Paul - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 5108
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Chemainus, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Paul - Tracker Supp » Mon Feb 16, 2015 5:41 pm

Hi malungu
when I select "Show Native UI" when scanning in Editor, the result is as expected.
Does this mean it is working as you want when you select this? If so what else are you looking for from us? Maybe I misunderstand?

The reason you were asked about Twain drivers is probably because Twain drivers are typically 32 bit and I suspect your other applications are also 32 bit meaning they can access those drivers. A 64 bit application cannot use 32 bit scanner drivers. Can you tell me if you can scan to MS Paint? It is usually a 64 bit program on 64 bit systems. We use the same UI (WIA) and you should expect the same behaviour in the PDF-XChange Editor 64 bit application as you get in 64 bit Paint instance. Does that help? can you scan to 64 bit paint?
_________________
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards

Paul O'Rorke
Tracker Support North America
http://www.tracker-software.com

malungu

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1  SOLVED

Post by malungu » Mon Feb 16, 2015 6:31 pm

Hi Paul,

Paint calls the scanner dialog that I see if I select "Show Native UI" in Editor. The error in Editor occurs if I don't select it. Please look at the settings that I posted in "scan settings A4 causing error.jpg". If I select A4 paper size there, Editor does not scan the whole A4 page but only a small rectangle that it puts in the middle of the PDF, see "scanned page A4 with error.pdf". This behaviour is new in Editor 5.5.212.(1). Editor scanned the complete A4 page up to version 5.5.211.

My impression is that tj8tracker describes a similar problem here: http://www.tracker-software.com/forum3/ ... 62&t=23239

Best regards
malungu
Last edited by malungu on Mon Feb 16, 2015 6:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 5108
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Chemainus, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Paul - Tracker Supp » Mon Feb 16, 2015 6:42 pm

Thanks for the clarification malungu,

I have asked the developer who is responsible for scanners to take a look at this. He's done for the day today but you should expect something here tomorrow.

hth
_________________
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards

Paul O'Rorke
Tracker Support North America
http://www.tracker-software.com

tj8tracker
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:39 am

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by tj8tracker » Sat Mar 07, 2015 10:48 am

Hi all,
any news here?
Ich have the same problems with my scanner Brother ADS-1100w.
Duplex is not working anymore and the paper sizes are not recognized correctly.
best regards

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 14196
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:47 pm

Hello all,

I've had a conversation with one of our colleagues from the dev team and will be following on this forum topic.

We have prepared a custom build for you.
This build will help us check is the scanner problem was fixed and to investigate the situation further if not.
To use it please do the following steps:

1. Download and unzip the file that I have just e-mailed you, then run the PDFXEdit.exe from inside that folder
2. Download and run (no install necessary) DebugView from here:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysi ... s/bb896647
3. Reproduce the problem.
4. Send us the output from DebugView

This 'Debug' PDF-XChange Editor version is provided for testing purposes only.

Regards,
Stefan

r. woch
User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 4:40 pm

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by r. woch » Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:09 pm

Hallo,
same problems to me with my scanner Brother ADS-2100.
Duplex is not working anymore and the paper sizes are not recognized correctly - and it's impossible to save the scanner settings.
thanks,
RW

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 14196
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Wed Mar 11, 2015 5:31 pm

Hello RW,

If you are willing to test - I can send you that custom build as well.
Is the e-mail in your forum details the correct one to use or would you like us to send the instructions elsewhere?

Regards,
Stefan

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 14196
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Fri Mar 13, 2015 10:29 am

Hi All,

I've just had a conversation with the colleagues from the dev team working on the issues discussed in this topic.
From the report we received from malungu, we believe we have now fixed the issue with the auto page size.

However we will need some more input for fixing the duplex scanning issue.
I have just e-mailed r. woch the debug build that we have for this problem, and if you can send us the debug report we would then try to fix the duplex scanning as well!

Regards,
Stefan

tj8tracker
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:39 am

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by tj8tracker » Mon Mar 16, 2015 10:58 pm

Hi all,

nice to hear that the paper size error will be fixed soon.

I also have a scanner with hardware duplex capability.
With this Modell Brother ADS-1100W i produced the debug files and sent them.
Hope it helps to correct this other bug.
In previous Versions of PDF-XChange duplex scanning worked as expected with this scanner model.

Regards,
TJ

User avatar
Patrick-Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 1668
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver Island
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Patrick-Tracker Supp » Tue Mar 17, 2015 12:27 am

Hi tj8tracker,

Thank you for the update, I suspect the issue with duplex scanning will also be addressed.

Cheers!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Cheers,

Patrick Charest
Tracker Support North America

tj8tracker
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:39 am

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by tj8tracker » Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:24 pm

Hi all,
over 2 months without duplex scanning capability. A little annoying.
When can we suspect to get an corrected version?

Is it possible to download the previous 5.x Version?

The official download site only lists Version 3.0.307.2 as previous Version.

regards,
TJ

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Mon Apr 20, 2015 2:33 am

Hi TJ,

Thanks for the post - to the best of my knowledge, we didn't receive any info. from the debug build. Without that info., we cannot fix the issue.

Could you please email support@tracker-software.com with a link back to this topic and I will speak with the Dev. team about getting you a debug build to test, if you're willing?

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

tj8tracker
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:39 am

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by tj8tracker » Mon Apr 20, 2015 4:53 pm

just to bee precise, I sent in the debug-files on Sun, 15 Mar 2015 18:48:43 +0100
and the answer in the forum some lines above from Patrick-Tracker Supp was:

"Hi tj8tracker,

Thank you for the update, I suspect the issue with duplex scanning will also be addressed.

Cheers!
"

I just resent my e-mail to support@tracker-software.com

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Mon Apr 20, 2015 5:00 pm

Hi tj8tracker,

Thanks for that - I wasn't aware that the info. had been sent. I'll chase this up with my colleagues today. Were you ever issued any ticket number?
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

tj8tracker
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:39 am

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by tj8tracker » Mon Apr 20, 2015 5:41 pm

no ticket number until now for this request.

best regards,
TJ

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:03 pm

Hi TJ,

I've forwarded this on to the appropriate Developer and am waiting to hear back. He works from Ukraine, so I'm not likely to hear back until some time tomorrow, unfortunately.

I apologize for the delay!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Wed Apr 22, 2015 9:26 pm

Hi TJ,

I've heard back from the Dev. Team and they've said that it looks like you're using the WIA drivers. Could you please try to use TWAIN drivers with the Editor? If the Editor isn't recognizing the TWAIN drivers, it's likely because they are 32-bit and you have a 64-bit installation of the Editor, so you would need to try and get a hold of 64-bit TWAIN drivers, if possible.

In the meantime, we will continue the investigation.

HTH!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

tj8tracker
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:39 am

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by tj8tracker » Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:18 am

Hi Will,

thanks for your answer.

You are right!
With the 32-bit TWAIN-Interface Duplex (hardware) works.

But the problem with the automatic page size persists.

64-bit TWAIN Drivers don't exist, i think.

best regards,
TJ

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 14196
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Thu Apr 23, 2015 1:25 pm

Hello TJ,

Just spoke with Alex (one of our devs) and he confirmed that the issue with automatic page sizes is fixed for build 313 that id due for release in May.

Regards,
Stefan

tj8tracker
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2014 10:39 am

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by tj8tracker » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:56 am

Hello Stefan,

nice to hear that.

Will the Duplex scanning problem with the WIA-driver be examined?

regards,
TJ

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:47 pm

Hi TJ,

I believe that the Dev. I was speaking with is still investigating. I'll 'pester' him for an update today, if I cant.
64-bit TWAIN Drivers don't exist, i think.
They do exist, but they seem to be so rare that they may as well not. I've only ever seen them once, which is why my suggestion was fairly tentative.

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

Don_Pedro
User
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Don_Pedro » Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:33 am

Hello,

I had the same problem with the scanner that was described by @malungu at the beginning of this thread. Only a small part of an A4 page is scanned when the page size is set to "automatic". This problem first showed up in build 312. Previous builds were OK, as far as I can remember.

My configuration:
Windows 7 SP1 Ultimate x64
PDF-XChange Editor V. 5.5.313.0
Canon CanoScan LiDE 90 scanner with WIA driver

The issue is still present in build 313. Is there any hope that this will be fixed soon?

Thanks.

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Tue Jun 02, 2015 9:11 pm

Hi Don,

Thanks for the post - I've brought this to the attention of the Dev. Team and they have prepared a new debug build. Could you please email support@tracker-software.com, and I would send the debug build and instructions.

Also, I've created a ticket for this item (RT-3072) to better track the problem.

Thanks,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

Don_Pedro
User
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:55 pm

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Don_Pedro » Wed Jun 03, 2015 5:33 pm

Thanks, Will.

I just sent an e-mail to Support.

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Wed Jun 03, 2015 6:42 pm

Thanks Don - I've received the email and have sent back the link debug build and instructions.

Keep us posted!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

malungu

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by malungu » Wed Jun 17, 2015 6:43 pm

Hi,

the original problem that I described at the beginning of the thread still persits in version 5.5.313.1. Do you have any news on this issue?

Best regards
malungu

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Problem with scanning in version 5.5.312.1

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Wed Jun 17, 2015 7:59 pm

Hi malungu,

Thanks for the post - as mentioned above, we are aware of the issue and investigating further.

We've tried several debug builds and, unfortunately, they haven't helped. At this point, it seems that the only other option is to remote in and attempt to gather information from the machine, locally. If anyone is willing to do this, please email support@tracker-software.com (with a link back to this thread) and we will advise further.

Thanks,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

Post Reply