Why use MSI package (v5.5.308) Czech as base language?

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
gerundt
User
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:07 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Why use MSI package (v5.5.308) Czech as base language?

Post by gerundt » Wed Jun 04, 2014 2:55 pm

I tried the last two days to install the MSI packages (v5.5.308) with GPO. But it doesn’t get installed on our German Windows 7 computers. Even without an error message! :(

I just saw that the MSI packages use Czech as base language! The MSI files from v3.0.307 use English as base language.

It seems, that a Czech MSI not get installed on a German Windows computer (not installed language or something). After I set an option to ignore package language in the GPO rule, it got installed!

Please change the base language for the next release back to English. To save me and other from frustrated hours! :|

Greetings,
Tim Gerundt

John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 8202
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Why use MSI package (v5.5.308) Czech as base language?

Post by John - Tracker Supp » Wed Jun 04, 2014 6:57 pm

Hi Tim,

can you please advise specifically which MSI package file you installed as English is the default language in all our installers?
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Ivan - Tracker Software
Site Admin
Posts: 3609
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Why use MSI package (v5.5.308) Czech as base language?

Post by Ivan - Tracker Software » Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:01 pm

Our MSI installers contain language transforms for the following languages: English (1033), Czech (1029), German (1031), Spanish (3082), French (1036), Italian (1040), Japanese (1041) and Ukrainian (1058) by default as.

The language is determined by the MSI installer automatically from your Windows Geographical set up - if there the required language is not available, the default one (English) will be used.
Tracker Software (Project Director)

When attaching files to any message - please ensure they are archived and posted as a .ZIP, .RAR or .7z format - or they will not be posted - thanks.

gerundt
User
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:07 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Why use MSI package (v5.5.308) Czech as base language?

Post by gerundt » Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:00 am

It tested it with the MSI files (x64 and x86) from 5.5.308.1 and 5.5.308.0. All files say as language "Czech". The MSI files from 3.0.307.2 and older say "English (USA)".

Maybe it is a problem, that the new MSI files use multiple languages in the languages properties? If I open the new MSI files with SuperOrca, it shows under the "Summary Information" the languages "1033,1029,1031,3082,1036,1040,1041,1058". The older MSI files show just "1033".

The installed product is German, but the GPO tools from Microsoft identify the setup with the wrong language. :( Fortunately I can ignore the language info with a option, but it was a hard nut to crack. :wink:

gerundt
User
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:07 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Why use MSI package (v5.5.308) Czech as base language?

Post by gerundt » Thu Jun 05, 2014 9:40 am

Ok, it seems to be a problem from Microsoft: Adding a software policy shows package as wrong language?

They don't support multi language MSI files well. It looks like, that the GPO tools use in this case the second language code. (Found other people with such problems with Google.)

The PDF-XChange Editor get really installed as "Czech" version on the clients:

Code: Select all

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Installer\Products\A3120EFEE0664F547A7154F73889512E]
"ProductName"="PDF-XChange Editor"
"PackageCode"="86C133096EA9D874F905DDC6A0B4F16C"
"Language"=dword:00000405
...
Language 0x00000405 is 1029 in decimal (Czech)!

Fortunately your installer don't use this information and install all language files on the computer. So the user can later use a German Editor! :)

To avoid this ugliness I would need to change the MSI file with a program like Orca or SuperOrca to only one language code in the summary information.

John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 8202
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Why use MSI package (v5.5.308) Czech as base language?

Post by John - Tracker Supp » Thu Jun 05, 2014 3:28 pm

Thanks for the update which is much appreciated.

there are many limitations and problems with MS's implementation of MSI and we are constantly having to find work arounds or having to live with limitations - the whole thing to be blunt is a mess and if it were not for some of the Admin and group policy functions etc we would much prefer to stick with the older 'EXE' style installers.

:(
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Post Reply