Licensing question / Activate button

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
Mattes57
User
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Licensing question / Activate button

Post by Mattes57 » Wed May 28, 2014 6:57 am

PDF XChange Pro was updated successfully, and it looks like the update automatically got a valid new license.
(see attached screenshot).

However, what about the "Activate" button? This wants to get an activation key.
I've got an email containing the license key data, but not any additional activation key.

Or, do I misunderstand something? Please clarify. Thanks.
Attachments
Screenshot - 28_05_2014 , 08_47_43.pdf
(16.48 KiB) Downloaded 93 times

Ivan - Tracker Software
Site Admin
Posts: 3609
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Licensing question / Activate button

Post by Ivan - Tracker Software » Wed May 28, 2014 7:01 am

Activate button is for users who got the product 'in the box', and, since it is not so useful to enter new serial key manually, there are special 'Activation Keys' for such purposes.
In the feature builds we will rename this button to something like "Add Activation Key" or "Use Activation Key" to do not confuse our users.
Tracker Software (Project Director)

When attaching files to any message - please ensure they are archived and posted as a .ZIP, .RAR or .7z format - or they will not be posted - thanks.

Mattes57
User
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2008 4:10 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Licensing question / Activate button

Post by Mattes57 » Wed May 28, 2014 7:04 am

Thank you.

pctuki_fg
User
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 8:25 am

Re: Licensing question / Activate button

Post by pctuki_fg » Wed May 28, 2014 9:03 am

How you add the new key to the install command line?

I tried to do it like the old key, but the key wasnt added. Then I manually copied it and added it. Also tried with the old key, but I get the message to upgrade the key on first start.

gerundt
User
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:07 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Licensing question / Activate button

Post by gerundt » Wed May 28, 2014 10:22 am

And how it works with deployment on many computers?

With the old version I can add the registry key “Serial” under “HKLM\SOFTWARE\Tracker Software\PDFXEditor\3.0\Settings\Registration”.

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13548
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Licensing question / Activate button

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Wed May 28, 2014 2:29 pm

Hello gerundt,

Maybe this will help?
http://www.tracker-software.com/knowledgebase/439

Regards,
Stefan

gerundt
User
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:07 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Licensing question / Activate button

Post by gerundt » Wed May 28, 2014 2:46 pm

Tracker Supp-Stefan wrote:Maybe this will help?
http://www.tracker-software.com/knowledgebase/439
I am not sure. :cry:

We currently install the MSI setup with GPO and later tweak the client registry by adding the licence key, the display language and some other settings.

Works KEYFILE and KEYDATA also with the MSI setup? Can the KEYFILE value also a network path?

I must look, how I can add this MSI parameter if we use GPO to deployment. (But I can test it first in the next week).

Thank you for your help!

Greetings,
Tim

User avatar
Paul - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 4944
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Chemainus, Canada
Contact:

Re: Licensing question / Activate button

Post by Paul - Tracker Supp » Wed May 28, 2014 4:11 pm

Hi Tim,

indeed these are for the MSI. The exe installers don't yet have a command line option to use a vault file. I would like to consult with my MSI maintainer to see if/how this can be integrated into a transform for use with a GPO. Great question, I should have an answer for you later today.

Edit - I stand corrected, while most of the exe installers do not yet support KEYFILE or KEYDATA the Editor exe does.

hth
_________________
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards

Paul O'Rorke
Tracker Support North America
http://www.tracker-software.com

Post Reply