Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Forum for the PDF-XChange Editor - Free and Licensed Versions

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
User avatar
Bhikkhu Pesala
User
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:29 am
Location: East London
Contact:

Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Tue Jan 14, 2014 6:28 am

In the Viewer, if I enable the Loupe Tool, and mark an area to zoom to, the loupe window opens and the marked area is shown by a resizeable rectangle. When I close the loupe window, the tool is deselected and the rectangle also disappears.

In the Editor, on closing the Loupe Window, the tool remains active, and the rectangle does not disappear.

Is this a bug, or is it “By Design?”
Windows 10 64-bit • AMD A10-6800K, 8 Gbyte RAM
Review: http://www.softerviews.org/PDF-XChange.html

User avatar
Bhikkhu Pesala
User
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:29 am
Location: East London
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:13 pm

I assigned a shortcut of lowercase "L" to the Loupe Tool, and it shows on the menu, but it does nothing.
Windows 10 64-bit • AMD A10-6800K, 8 Gbyte RAM
Review: http://www.softerviews.org/PDF-XChange.html

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Tue Jan 14, 2014 7:32 pm

Hi Bhikkhu,

Thanks for the post - the Dev. Team are currently looking into your issue with the deselection of the Loupe Tool and I suspect will revert back to match the behaviour in the Viewer.
I assigned a shortcut of lowercase "L" to the Loupe Tool, and it shows on the menu, but it does nothing.
This works perfectly for me. Please make sure that, when assigning the shortkey, you hit the green arrow in the dialogue.

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

User avatar
Bhikkhu Pesala
User
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:29 am
Location: East London
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:03 pm

Will - Tracker Supp wrote:
I assigned a shortcut of lowercase "L" to the Loupe Tool, and it shows on the menu, but it does nothing.
This works perfectly for me. Please make sure that, when assigning the shortkey, you hit the green arrow in the dialogue.

Cheers,
I did that, but it was assigned to Loupe in the View Command list. I removed that, now it's working OK.

When adding the same shortcut to the Loupe Tool, it warns that it is already assigned to the other command, but it doesn't actually remove it, although the dialogue would lead you to believe that it has been removed on assigning it to the Loupe Tool.

The screen shots show that the shortcut "L" is assigned to both commands, but it does nothing.
Attachments
Loupe Shortcuts.7z
(235.18 KiB) Downloaded 72 times
Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala on Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 10 64-bit • AMD A10-6800K, 8 Gbyte RAM
Review: http://www.softerviews.org/PDF-XChange.html

User avatar
Paul - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 5108
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 10:37 pm
Location: Chemainus, Canada
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Paul - Tracker Supp » Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:06 pm

:)
_________________
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards

Paul O'Rorke
Tracker Support North America
http://www.tracker-software.com

mantao
User
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:47 am

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by mantao » Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:57 pm

An additional issue faced with the Loupe Tool in PDF-XChange Editor 3.0.307.1, is in multi-page document where the pages are of different sizes / orientation, the "louped" window appears to be relative to the largest page.

To illustrate the issue please refer to attached example, where Pg.1 is A4-size portrait and Pg. 2 is A3-size landscape ... it is not possible to view the left extremities of Pg. 1 in the loupe window.

There is no such issue if each page is viewed separately, or if the multi-page document is opened using PDF-XChange Viewer.
Attachments
Attachment.zip
(7.9 KiB) Downloaded 85 times

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:16 pm

Hi mantao,

Thanks for the post - I've managed to reproduce this issue. As a workaround, please try resizing the Loupe window and you should find that everything is displayed. I will forward this to the Dev. Team to investigate.

I've also created an internal Development ticket to help track the progress of the issue. The ticket number is RT-2293.

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

mantao
User
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:47 am

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by mantao » Thu Mar 13, 2014 2:29 am

This issue does not appear to be fixed in PDF-XChange Editor 3.0.307.2

BTW, re-sizing the loupe window does not help resolve the issue.

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Thu Mar 13, 2014 4:13 pm

Hi mantao,

I believe that this issue was found a little late to make it into the 307.2 release. I believe that this should be fixed for the next build (308), but I'd need to talk to the Development Team to confirm that.

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

mantao
User
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:47 am

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by mantao » Tue May 27, 2014 9:19 am

Hi Will,

Appreciate if you can confirm if the issue previously highlighted vide post on 31st January 2014, has been resolved in the latest release - PDF-XChange Editor Version 5.5 Build 308.

A quick check using the previously uploaded sample file seems to indicate that the issue still persists.

Mark

Will-Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:26 pm

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Will-Tracker Supp » Tue May 27, 2014 5:56 pm

Hi Mark,

Thanks for the follow-up - I hate to say it, but you're right, it does still seem to be present. I'll speak to the Dev. Team about this and will follow-up with you later today.

Cheers,

mantao
User
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:47 am

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by mantao » Fri May 30, 2014 7:36 am

Hi Will,

Do you have any update from your development team?

We use the loupe tool pretty extensively on mixed format documents, and find the same not only useful but also critical to us.

It was unfortunate that we missed having the issue addressed in Build 307.2, but having the same persist in Build 308.0 is a handicap.

As previously highlighted the workaround of resizing the loupe window suggested on 4th February 2014 does not help get round the issue.

Appreciate you advice and indication when a fix can be expected.

Mark

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Fri May 30, 2014 4:21 pm

Hi Mark,

I apologize for not responding sooner, it's been a little mad here the last few days.

I managed to get time with the Dev. Team yesterday and they've said that they're looking into this now. This seems to have been overlooked in previous builds, because the Developer that managed this is no longer with the company. We apologize sincerely for that and hope that you can bear with us a little while longer.

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

mantao
User
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:47 am

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by mantao » Tue Jun 10, 2014 8:34 am

Thanks Will,

Do we have any indication when this issue will be fixed, as the same continues to persist in the latest 5.5.308.1 build, released on 3rd June 2014.

Mark

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Tue Jun 10, 2014 5:28 pm

Hi Mark,

Have spoken to the Dev. Team about upping the priority. It's now been upped and they've said that they will do all that they can to publish a fix for build 309.

Again, we apologize for such a delay and really appreciate your patience!

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

mantao
User
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:47 am

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by mantao » Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:12 pm

Hi Will,

Appreciate if you could check and confirm if this issue has been finally addressed ... T#2293 is not indicated in the version history.

A check using the "example" previously uploaded on 31st January 2014, indicates that the issue lives on in the recently released Build 309.

Mark

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 14196
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Thu Jul 31, 2014 11:58 am

Hello Mark,

The ticket is still not marked as resolved, but I did some tests with build 309 on my machine and it seems to be working OK.
Can you also update to 309 at your end and let us know if the loupe now works as expected for you?
http://tracker-software.com/product/downloads

Regards,
Stefan

mantao
User
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 9:47 am

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by mantao » Thu Jul 31, 2014 12:13 pm

Hi Stefan,

Thanks for your prompt response ... I had uploaded the post only after downloading / installing Build 309, and confirming that the issue still persists.

Did you test the functionality of the loupe tool using the "example" previously uploaded on 31st January 2014 ... it needs to be a multi-paged document with different paper sizes / orientations.

You cannot view the left extremities of Pg. 1, after the right extremities of the page have been viewed using the loupe tool.

Mark

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Thu Jul 31, 2014 4:47 pm

Hi Mark,

I'm seeing the same thing. I'm waiting for time with the Dev. Team for their comments. I'll let you know what they say as soon as I'm able.

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 6905
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Loupe Tool Not Quite Right?

Post by Will - Tracker Supp » Thu Jul 31, 2014 10:03 pm

Hi Mark,

Thanks for waiting - the Dev. Team have informed me that a complete overhaul of the Loupe Tool is required in order to fix this. While they hope to have it done for the next build, it's a big job and we cannot make any guarantees, though it is being treated as a very high priority.

Cheers,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support (Europe)
Tracker Software Products Ltd.
http://www.tracker-software.com

Post Reply