PDF-XChange - Tracker PDF Viewer - TIFF-XChange - Image-XChange - XMF-XChange - Raster-XChange - Support

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Chris - Tracker Supp, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Tracker Supp-Stefan

 
Peter2
User
Topic Author
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:09 am
Location: Switzerland

Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Mon Dec 01, 2014 8:43 am

I have two profiles for my addin: "A" and "B"

I start Word - "A" is "current" - I create a PDF with addin - the result is made by profile "B" - I check profile "A" - the settings of profile "B" are displayed - I activate "B" - check "B" - settings are OK - I activate "A" again - check "A" - settings are OK - create PDF - result is OK

Maybe some refreshment problem.

Peter
Win 7 Prof German; PDF-X-Change Pro German
 
User avatar
Patrick-Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver Island
Contact:

Re: Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Mon Dec 01, 2014 4:46 pm

Hello Peter,

Thank you for the report. I will pass this along to the dev team. Could you please let us know what version of Office you are using?

Thanks!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Cheers,

Patrick Charest
Tracker Support North America
 
Peter2
User
Topic Author
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:09 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Mon Dec 01, 2014 5:44 pm

Patrick-Tracker Supp wrote:
...Could you please let us know what version of Office you are using?...

Office 2010

Peter
Win 7 Prof German; PDF-X-Change Pro German
 
Peter2
User
Topic Author
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:09 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Wed Dec 03, 2014 8:07 am

Additional info:

When changing the profile the first time, there appears a dialogue "Do you really want to select this profile?". The next changes of the profile don't display the message.

Peter
Win 7 Prof German; PDF-X-Change Pro German
 
User avatar
Patrick-Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 1546
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 6:14 pm
Location: Vancouver Island
Contact:

Re: Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Wed Dec 03, 2014 4:17 pm

Thanks Peter,

When changing the profile the first time, there appears a dialogue "Do you really want to select this profile?". The next changes of the profile don't display the message.


Will add that as well.

Thanks for your patience!
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Cheers,

Patrick Charest
Tracker Support North America
 
Peter2
User
Topic Author
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:09 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Sun Dec 13, 2015 3:19 pm

Something new with this issue? In version 315 there is still a confusion with current / selected / standard ...
Win 7 Prof German; PDF-X-Change Pro German
 
User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 12021
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Mon Dec 14, 2015 11:46 am

Hello Peter2,

The current settings of the printing drivers (the ones that will be used to actually create the file) are stored in the registry in a DEVMODE structure.

The profiles are just collections of settings that you can quickly apply, and when you do so - those are updated in the registry and the drivers will use those settings from now on when making PDFs. The profile itself and it's contents is not changed. If you make changes to the settings - those are made in the registry and not the profile, so to save them - you need to resave the profile.

Selecting profile from the list of profiles copies all settings from that profile to the DEVMODE; also printer remembers there the name of chosen profile (for UI purpose). Selecting ‘fake’ profile “Default Profile” causes to reset all settings to their default built-in values.
Any change to the printer's settings modify DEVMODE but not original Profile. The profile remains unmodified.

This change to how profiles work was implemented in build 308 of the drivers.

Regards,
Stefan
 
Peter2
User
Topic Author
Posts: 756
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:09 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Fri Mar 18, 2016 8:50 am

Hi

I want to refresh this topic again (I believe that I linked already a screencast somewhere)

I have the settings
- Standard / Current
- "Normal" (defined by me - vanilla settings)
- and some more

- open Word, "Standard" is the displayed "profile"
- create a PDF with "Standard"
- get a PDF with my company logo (maybe correct - defined in Standard)
- select profile "Normal"
- get a pure standard PDF (fine ...)
- close Word
- open Word
- profile "Normal" is displayed
- create a PDF - I get a PDF with company logo

So the displayed profile name is not according with the used settings.
Win 7 Prof German; PDF-X-Change Pro German
 
User avatar
Will - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 5881
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:21 pm
Location: Chemainus, BC
Contact:

Re: Addin for Word: Current profile is not aktive

Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:00 pm

Hi Peter,

I've reproduced this here and the behaviour does not seem correct/expected, to me. I've created ticket for the issue (RT-3481) and will forward it along.

Please note that it is almost certainly too late to fix this for the next release.

Thanks,
If posting files to this forum, you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded.
Thank you.

Best regards

Will Travaglini
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest