PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

PDF-XChange Viewer SDK
Simple DLL and ActiveX

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan

Post Reply
FransOttenhof
User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:30 pm

PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

Post by FransOttenhof » Sun Nov 29, 2015 3:25 pm

Hi all,

I have a strange behavior of the overlay function.
Most of the times the function behaves normally, but for no apparent reason sometimes the complete overlay is placed in the top left corner of the output, printed very small and does not appear where it should be.

What might be the cause of this behavior?

Best regards,
Frans

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Sun Nov 29, 2015 9:14 pm

Hi Frans!

Just to be sure, this is using the PDF-Viewer ActiveX?
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

FransOttenhof
User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:30 pm

Re: PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

Post by FransOttenhof » Mon Dec 07, 2015 2:12 pm

Hi Craig,

No I'm using the template PDF-Tools Report Procedure Extension v4.1
I have screenshots if you need them.

Best regards,
Frans

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Mon Dec 07, 2015 7:47 pm

Hi Frans!

That's unusual then. I don't recall ever seeing this before.

Please send screenshots to my email address Under the envelope icon to the right of this message.
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

FransOttenhof
User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:30 pm

Re: PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

Post by FransOttenhof » Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:24 am

Hi Craig,

It's been a while, busy busy, you know the drill...
But the problem is still there.
I discovered something. It seems that it isn't the overlay that goes wrong, but the size of the pdf itself.
For some reason the pdf is 10 times larger than a normal A4, which it is supposed to be.
Do you have any clue?

Best regards,
Frans
Attachments
20151230-1859.pdf
(138.14 KiB) Downloaded 108 times
20151029-1630.pdf
this is the faulty and big pdf
(138.24 KiB) Downloaded 101 times

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:11 pm

Hi Frans!

You're right1 One is definitely exactly 10 times bigger than the other, except for the overlay which seems to be correctly sized in both cases.

Have you tried to see if removing the overlay still results in oversized PDF's?
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

FransOttenhof
User
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:30 pm

Re: PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

Post by FransOttenhof » Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:24 pm

Hi Craig,

It shouldn't have that large size. I have no idea where to look for.
The silly thing is, it only happens with the customer, I can't reproduce it on my testmachine at my office.
Could this come from any printer driver?

User avatar
Tracker Supp-Stefan
Site Admin
Posts: 13548
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:07 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: PDF Overlay sometimes goes wrong

Post by Tracker Supp-Stefan » Fri Jan 22, 2016 2:16 pm

Hello FransOttenhof,

Are both files generated by your own code? And is it the same code that generates them (just using different text for the content creation), or is it separate portions of code that are making those files?
Could it be if it's two portions of code that at one of the places you have the page size specified incorrectly (e.g. you assumed it's tenths of a mm per point/unit and it's actually 10 times less)?

Or are you overlaying files created by an external source? If it's an external source - then certainly - the files can be created with arbitrary size.

Regards,
Stefan

Post Reply