Issue with Print Properties Window

PDF-XChange Viewer SDK
Simple DLL and ActiveX

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan

Post Reply
Tony York
User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:33 am

Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tony York » Fri Oct 26, 2012 8:33 am

Hi Craig,

I have just noticed a quirky situation with the Print Properties window.

Here is what I have -

I open the frame, then proceed to a Browse procedure that lists pdf file information. When I double click on a row it opens another procedure (non mdi) that contains nothing except the AX control and full menus and tool bars and opens the pdf file.

I go to print, and the properties window does open up, but if it loses focus for any reason (like a mouse click outside of the frame, or even click on the frame of the Print Properties window, the window disappears to behind the frame. I can get it back by clicking on the AX window, but if a further message arrives after clicking on Print, like margins etc, they both go to the back again. I can get them both back with a click on the AX window, but it is weird.

I can do you a video if you like.

See ya

Tony

PS. I tried START ing the AX Viewer procedure, but it made no difference. Is that a good move to fire up that procedure with a START rather then just a call to StandardViewer (my procedure name)?

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Fri Oct 26, 2012 11:31 am

Hi Tony!

Which demo is this? I need to check it out.
it opens another procedure (non mdi)
That sounds like it should be MDI. Please go to the Window Properties and check the MDI checkbox.

Whether to START the AX procedure or just call it depends on things like getting feedback from the AX procedure. Normally I would just call the procedure.
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Tony York
User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:33 am

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tony York » Mon Oct 29, 2012 7:24 am

Hi Craig,

I need to make it a non mdi window as it may need to be maximized, and not kept within the confines of the frame, which may well be at normal size.

I will make a quick video to demonstrate it. Will be in touch.

See ya

Tony

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:26 pm

Hi Tony!

If you want to move the Viewer window outside the confines of MDI, then I believe you should START it. But, if you need feedback from the Viewer window, you may have to create a STATIC Global variable to handle the exchange.
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Tony York
User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:33 am

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tony York » Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:39 pm

Hi Craig,

There is one thing I have not tried, and that is to have a separate exe that accepts the file name passed to it and views the file. That might remove the problem. Can you confirm that that would not have any license issues by being just like the stand alone viewer?

Thanks

Tony

Tony York
User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:33 am

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tony York » Tue Oct 30, 2012 5:49 am

Hi Craig,

Here is a link to a short video on the printer properties window.

http://www.fiscalservices.com.au/printp ... prev1.html

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Tue Oct 30, 2012 7:10 pm

Hi Tony!

This is a reason to not open MDI and non-MDI windows in the same application at the same time.

Incidentally you will see this in the Clarion IDE from time to time if you open an external app at the wrong time with a mixture of Clarion IDE MDI and non-MDI screens open.
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Tony York
User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:33 am

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tony York » Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:01 pm

Thanks Craig,

In the video, the first part does not deal with a call to a procedure, but rather I call an exe program using RUN() and passing it the PDF file name. eg. RUN('scanpv.exe c:\MyPDF\mypdf.pdf')

Before doing the video, I created a new application with just one window in it, and populated the AX control on that window. I accept a command line parameter being the PDF file path and name, and open up the file for viewing. I wanted to see if that approach might make any difference.

So I suppose my question is how do I open a PDF file in a separate window and get the the printer properties window to stay on top?

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:18 pm

Hi Tony!

I have no idea. I'll have to pass this along to someone else.
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Tony York
User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:33 am

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tony York » Tue Oct 30, 2012 11:41 pm

Thanks Craig,

I was wondering if there is much of a difference with ShellExecute and RUN. I will have to check it out. There must be a way somewhere, we just have to find it :wink:

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Wed Oct 31, 2012 2:08 pm

Hi Tony!

There are two ShellExecute functions: ShellExecute and ShellExecuteEx. Clarion RUN() is more like ShellExecute:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... s.85).aspx
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library ... s.85).aspx

HTH!

I think you're hitting a persistent bug in Clarion windowing.
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Tony York
User
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:33 am

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tony York » Wed Oct 31, 2012 2:37 pm

Thanks Craig,

I even tried Greg Burthume's PowerRun that I have, that has sitting there for the past 10 years, and it did not really make much difference, except maybe it made the viewer window fire up a little faster, and of course it did it's job.

It looks like it maybe one of the those "known issues" that I will have to post on the FAQ's section when I do one. :wink:

See ya

Tony

Tracker - Clarion Support
Site Admin
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Maryland, USA
Contact:

Re: Issue with Print Properties Window

Post by Tracker - Clarion Support » Wed Oct 31, 2012 2:52 pm

:)
Craig Ransom
Tracker Software - Clarion Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Post Reply