Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers [solved]

The PDF-XChange Viewer for End Users
+++ FREE +++

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Paul - Tracker Supp, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software

Post Reply
NoSi
User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers [solved]

Post by NoSi » Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:05 am

Hi,

I have installed the "PRO" version and activated the viewer plugin in several browsers (IE, FF, Opera). A very required option offered by Adobe Viewer to jump to a specific page in a pdf from html

Code: Select all

<a href="mydoc.pdf#page=10">Open PDF, page 10</a>
is obviously not supported.

Is there a workaround available?

Regards,
NoSi
Last edited by NoSi on Tue Jul 01, 2008 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Ivan - Tracker Software
Site Admin
Posts: 3617
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by Ivan - Tracker Software » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:36 pm

No, for now there are no such method.
We can try to add it into the next build.
Tracker Software (Project Director)

When attaching files to any message - please ensure they are archived and posted as a .ZIP, .RAR or .7z format - or they will not be posted - thanks.

NoSi
User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by NoSi » Wed Jun 04, 2008 3:28 pm

Ivan - Tracker Software wrote:We can try to add it into the next build.
Thanks for this information. Would be very useful, because then I can remove all other pdf-viewers from my PC.

The described feature is only available in the browser plugin of Adobe Viewer - the "full" product has no option (i.e. command line) to achieve this.

Best Regards,

NoSi

Ivan - Tracker Software
Site Admin
Posts: 3617
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by Ivan - Tracker Software » Thu Jun 05, 2008 7:41 am

To be honest, it has :)
Tracker Software (Project Director)

When attaching files to any message - please ensure they are archived and posted as a .ZIP, .RAR or .7z format - or they will not be posted - thanks.

NoSi
User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by NoSi » Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:42 am

Ivan - Tracker Software wrote:To be honest, it has :)
Really? I searched for it several hours and did not find anything. But - does not matter. I´d prefer PDF-XChange Viewer for me and my customers... ;)

Regards,
NoSi

NoSi
User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by NoSi » Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:23 pm

Version history 2.0.0038.1 release - 30-06-2008 lists this as added. Tried, but no success.

Any Hints?

Regards,
NoSi

User avatar
Bhikkhu Pesala
User
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:29 am
Location: East London
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Mon Jun 30, 2008 1:33 pm

I also tried, but without success.

This link should go to page 3 of my Font Creator Review if this feature is working as I think it should. It opens at page 1 when I try it.
Windows 10 64-bit • AMD A10-6800K, 8 Gbyte RAM
Review: http://www.softerviews.org/PDF-XChange.html

NoSi
User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by NoSi » Tue Jul 01, 2008 5:59 am

Bhikkhu Pesala wrote:It opens at page 1 when I try it.
Yes it does. That´s the challenge.

Regards,
NoSi

Ivan - Tracker Software
Site Admin
Posts: 3617
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by Ivan - Tracker Software » Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:27 am

Looks like trouble is because into plugins folder of FireFox/Opera the old version of plugin located.

Can you try to manually replace it with the version from Viewer's folder ?
Tracker Software (Project Director)

When attaching files to any message - please ensure they are archived and posted as a .ZIP, .RAR or .7z format - or they will not be posted - thanks.

User avatar
Bhikkhu Pesala
User
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:29 am
Location: East London
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:34 am

There was no plugin in my Opera plugins folder. It was using the plugin from C:\Program Files\Tracker Software\..

It turned out that this plugin was the one installed with RC1 and the upgrade from the downloaded installation program did not overwrite it. Deleting it and running the install again fixed the problem.
Windows 10 64-bit • AMD A10-6800K, 8 Gbyte RAM
Review: http://www.softerviews.org/PDF-XChange.html

Ivan - Tracker Software
Site Admin
Posts: 3617
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:36 pm
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by Ivan - Tracker Software » Tue Jul 01, 2008 11:36 am

maybe it was in use during update ? By the way, installer should mark it as delayed replace and write a correct copy during next reboot.
Tracker Software (Project Director)

When attaching files to any message - please ensure they are archived and posted as a .ZIP, .RAR or .7z format - or they will not be posted - thanks.

NoSi
User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by NoSi » Tue Jul 01, 2008 3:00 pm

Hi,

I replaced the plugin (delete and reinstall) in Opera, Firefox, IE but jump to page did not work - is reboot necessary? That´s the only thing I have not tried,... .

Regards,
NoSi

User avatar
Bhikkhu Pesala
User
Posts: 1774
Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 9:29 am
Location: East London
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers

Post by Bhikkhu Pesala » Tue Jul 01, 2008 3:34 pm

I don't think you need to reboot — I didn't, but you do need to restart your browser and make sure the PDF-XChange plugin is selected in Preferences, Downloads.

Check the file version of npPDFXCviewNPPlugin.dll from Windows Explorer Properties.

Mine is 2.0.0038.0001. That works fine in Opera 9.50 and in Opera 9.51 Beta.
Windows 10 64-bit • AMD A10-6800K, 8 Gbyte RAM
Review: http://www.softerviews.org/PDF-XChange.html

NoSi
User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers [solved]

Post by NoSi » Tue Jul 01, 2008 4:21 pm

Bhikkhu Pesala wrote:Mine is 2.0.0038.0001
That´s it! I Downloaded the latest Viewer built (6/30/08) and now it works fine.

Thanks to all.

Regards,
NoSi

John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 8204
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers [solved]

Post by John - Tracker Supp » Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:04 am

Excellent - pleased all is now well :)
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

NoSi
User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:26 am
Location: Germany

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers [solved]

Post by NoSi » Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:21 am

Tracker Support wrote:Excellent - pleased all is now well :)
:twisted: Oh - I didn´t say that. It´s on an excellent way. Still missing a few things (pro only!):

- Form Field Edit (Properties)
- editing of Javascript (Field/form events, general javascript)
- ruler and guides
- Modify Document Info
- Add/modify security settings

I know - most of it is announced. But to say "now well" this is missing for me... :wink:

But I confess, that it is not so hard, to await it.

Regards,
NoSi

John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 8204
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Re: Jump to specific pdf-page within browsers [solved]

Post by John - Tracker Supp » Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:24 am

So why did you say :
That´s it! I Downloaded the latest Viewer built (6/30/08) and now it works fine.
We answer in this way to clear messgaes off the 'pending' for answer list - so we can see what still requires a response.
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Post Reply