Installation: Install start menue entries in a different pat

This Forum is for the use of Software Developers requiring help and assistance for Tracker Software's PDF-XChange Printer Drivers SDK (only) - Please use the PDF-Tools SDK Forum for Library DLL assistance.

Moderators: TrackerSupp-Daniel, Tracker Support, Vasyl-Tracker Dev Team, Sean - Tracker, Chris - Tracker Supp, Tracker Supp-Stefan, Ivan - Tracker Software, Andrew - Tracker Support, Tracker - Clarion Support, John - Tracker Supp, Support Staff, moderators

Post Reply
prosozial_schmitt
User
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:49 am

Installation: Install start menue entries in a different pat

Post by prosozial_schmitt » Tue Jan 04, 2005 7:10 am

Hello

We are using PDF-XChange Drivers API with silent setup (verysilent ;-)).
Is possible to install the startmenue entries in a different path.

example ..\MyProgram\Tools\PDF-XChange 3 instead of installing directly under the startmenue-root?

Some of our customers/admins are "sad" about another new startmenu entry after installing our products and want to have this entry in our startmenu-path...

It should be possible to controle the target of the startmenu entries over the commandline.

Is there already such an option?

Greeting
Hans-Peter Schmitt
prosozial Gmbh

John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 8202
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Post by John - Tracker Supp » Tue Jan 04, 2005 9:40 am

Hi Hans Peter,

Currently I am afraid this is not possible.

However - we will look at adding this to an upcoming release.
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

prosozial_schmitt
User
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:49 am

Post by prosozial_schmitt » Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:36 am

ok - thank a lot.

How can I get information about the integration of the new feature?
It would nice to have a "revision-list" in your download/update packages.


Greetings
Hans-Peter Schmitt

John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 8202
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Post by John - Tracker Supp » Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:37 am

I stand corrected - a colleague has pointed out :

using the silent install options it can be done now:

/GROUP="folder name"

example

PDFX3_SA.exe /GROUP="Tools\PDF-XChange 3"

hope that helps
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

prosozial_schmitt
User
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 9:49 am

Post by prosozial_schmitt » Tue Jan 04, 2005 10:49 am

Great - it works!

Some problems are quicker solved as i can generate a new setup ;-)


Have a nice day and greetings/thanks to your colleague.

John - Tracker Supp
Site Admin
Posts: 8202
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 10:34 am
Location: Vancouver Island - Canada
Contact:

Post by John - Tracker Supp » Tue Jan 04, 2005 11:21 am

Hi,

You can view the revisions history here on this forum.

http://www.tracker-software.com/forum/v ... .php?t=179

where changes are detailed - though in this instance this is not a feature we provide specifically - but a feature of the installation software we use:

Inno Setup - which is freely available from :

http://www.jrsoftware.org/isinfo.php

Highly reccomended - even if you just download the help to see what access to our installer via the command line using undocumented switches etc with our developer install Binary.
If posting files to this forum - you must archive the files to a ZIP, RAR or 7z file or they will not be uploaded - thank you.

Best regards
Tracker Support
http://www.tracker-software.com

Post Reply